Complementary Therapies

Song of the Day: The Only Exception by Paramore.

After a tense few weeks which have resulted in a hostile, aggressive and extremely negative mood, I decided I needed a pick-me-up. So I booked an appointment with one of my favourite complementary therapists for another Reiki treatment. Reiki is a healing energy therapy, not everyone’s cup of tea, but I find the hour-long session extremely relaxing. You basically lie on a couch whilst the therapist lays her hands on certain areas of the body and acts as a channel for the natural energy all around is. Yes it does all sound a little bit voodoo, but all I know is that it really works for me. It could be psychological I guess and a placebo effect, but even if it is, as long as it works I don’t mind!

Whilst I was having the treatment on Wednesday I noticed a distinct change in my thought patterns. Before I went in I was feeling agitated and irritable after work. I felt very negative about myself, particularly my poor eating habits and body shape, and felt pretty hopeless about ever making any significant improvement in these areas. But whilst on the couch and as I started to relax, my mind became more peaceful and much more positive thoughts would pop into my head about starting the gym again, that I really could take control of the issues I was worried about, that people really do care about me and that I don’t have to strive to be perfect all the time and am fine the way I am. These more hopeful thoughts have stayed with me all week so far and I feel much more motivated to start the gym again and put healthy foods in my body! This noticeable change is enough for me to believe that Reiki makes a difference to me, and I am grateful for it!

I would totally recommend complementary therapies to anyone who has regular bouts of negative mood states, or who easily succumbs to stress. Massages are also amazing, especially if you have body image issues. Having someone else completely accept your body for what it is, whilst easing out all the tension in your back, neck and shoulders is extremely soothing and kind of helps you to accept your own body. I particularly love Indian Head Massage as I have regular tension headaches and very tense neck which feels really relieved afterwards.

Think I’m gonna try to take up Yoga again too. This is a much cheaper way to get the same effects! (Just more effort!)

Leave a Reply

