Bipolar Disorder, Anxiety & Panic Attacks

For the last 7-10 days I’ve been having a bit of a weird mood episode: anxiety, panic attacks, racing thoughts, indecisiveness, restlessness, inability to relax, general muscle tension and disturbed sleep.

Last week I thought it was depression, now I’m veering towards thinking it’s a mixed state. My thoughts aren’t along the severely depressed line, though I would definitely say they’re more negative than usual.

The most debilitating symptom at the moment has been the panic attacks, and yesterday for the first time ever, I had one at home. I usually have them when I’m out in the city or in my previous jobs, so this was a bit of a surprise!

I’m also getting agoraphobia symptoms: anxiety/panic when further away from home/on my own/in crowded places. The anxiety and panic are mild when I’m well, but increase in severity with the presence of a bipolar episode to the point of disrupting regular activities. The following is a very interesting article about Bipolar Disorder and it’s relationship with anxiety. It discusses whether or not it is a symptom of Bipolar or a Separate Condition:

Anxiety and Bipolar Disorder (PsychEducation.org)

 

Other Articles I’ve Found Useful

Very informative website exclusively about Bipolar Mixed States

Anxiety in Depression & Bipolar Disorder: From McMan’s Depression & Bipolar Web

A bit more dry & intellectual, but still interesting: Comorbidity in Bipolar Disorder from Psychiatric Times

Interesting blog post on My Bipolar Bubble: Separation Anxiety and Bipolar Disorder in Children 

 

Photo Credit: freedigitalphotos.net

10 thoughts on “Bipolar Disorder, Anxiety & Panic Attacks

  1. carlarenee45

    Im sorry that those panic attacks are so bad for you. Mine were like that too when I was younger, but I found as time went on, I found ways to help them get milder and less often. Going to the same place to shop for groceries, or staying away from the mall and instead opting for a smaller outlet ect. can help you in public after a while because these places will be familuar.

    Reply
    1. rachelmiller1511 Post author

      Thanks Carla. I have been free of them for a good few years, but they’ve just returned suddenly. I’m wondering if I’m on too high a dose of anti-depressants and it’s causing my anxiety. The dosage was increased during a bad depressive episode last year. So think I’ll be going back to the doctors 🙂

      Reply
  2. vacantpages

    Hi Rachel, thanks for visiting my blog Vacant Pages today, and for your wonderful comment. Can’t agree more there is just something wonderful about hanging out in coffee shops. Good luck with everything.

    Reply
  3. halfwaybetweenthegutter

    I’m sorry you’re experiencing this, Rachel. I’ve had panic attacks for most of my life, along with agoraphobia for the past few years, and it’s horrible. I don’t have bipolar, but I know my BPD plays a huge part.

    *squishy hugs* Hope they pass for you.

    Reply
    1. rachelmiller1511 Post author

      Thank you for the squishy hugs LOL!

      Agoraphobia is something I’ve never really wanted to admit to because I know how debilitating it can be, and that you have to put effort into CBT to keep yourself getting out there. The symptoms do seem to wax and wane with the Bipolar though, so at least I get a bit of a break!

      Sorry to hear you suffer from it too, it’s pretty miserable! The panic attacks too. Thanks for sharing. Always good to have a kindred spirit for support!

      Reply
  4. projectwhitespace

    I am so so sorry to hear that you have been having more panic attacks, Rachel. this makes me really sad. I’m glad that you have this blog because even when you are feeling agoraphobic, this can be an outlet (I hope). Keep working on getting out there–the world needs you. The people around you need you. Only you can offer to the world what you have. And you are beautiful!!

    Reply
    1. rachelmiller1511 Post author

      Bethany, your support is just what I needed this morning and is the equivalent of a well-needed hug! Thank you, thank you, thank you. Hope you have an amazing day xxx

      Reply
      1. projectwhitespace

        Oh! I sent a hug!!!! That’s what it felt like, huh? Isn’t that neat how that works, even though we have an ocean between us. How cool is that? 🙂 I will have an amazing day now, just remembering this connection.

  5. Pingback: Panic Disorder Sleep Deprivation | Panic and IVF

Leave a Reply

