Happy Music!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One of my main tools for cheering myself up when depressed is music. I love putting together iTunes playlists based on my mood ,and my favourite playlist is called Happy Tracks! But I’m running our of new ideas for tracks to add, so I was hoping you guys could help out!

Thought it would be really fun if we could all share some of our favourite songs for cheering ourselves up, so here’s my playlist:

  • Love Story- Taylor Swift (I love this song so much!)
  • Candyman- Cristina Aguilera
  • F.N.T- Semisonic
  • Stone Cold Sober- Paloma Faith
  • Dog Days Are Over- Florence & the Machine
  • Run and Tell That- Hairspray Soundtrack (Love musicals, they’re so much fun)
  • Dirtee Disco- Dizzee Rascal (Can’t help but dance to this.)
  • Rockstar- Nickelback ( Great for a bit of spontaneous karaoke!)
  • Single Ladies- Beyonce
  • Mr Brightside- The Killers (Great memories of Cameron Diaz jumping around to this in The Holiday)
  • Don’t Stop Believing- Glee Soundtrack
  • Thank God I’m A Country Boy- John Denver (So not cool, but I just totally love this song. Think I was a cowboy in a former life)
  • All Summer Long- Kid Rock
  • I’m Only Me When I’m With You- Taylor Swift
  • No Tomorrow- Orson
  • Cosmic Love- Florence & The Machine (So Beautiful- probably one of my favourite songs ever)
  • Supermassive Black Hole- Muse
  • Bat Out of Hell- Meat Loaf (Meat Loaf- another guilty pleasure)
  • Smooth Criminal- Michael Jackson (Love Mr Jackson so much- this is my favourite of his)
  • Teenagers- My Chemical Romance ( This just makes me laugh.)
  • Dream Catch Me- Newton Faulkner
  • Nightswimming- R.E.M
  • A Thousand Miles- Vanessa Carlton
  • Generator- The Holloways (Can’t be depressed with this on)
  • Renegade- Daughtry
  • What’s My Age Again- Blink 182
  • Gives You Hell- All American Rejects
  • Paradise by the Dashboard Light- Meat Loaf
  • Parklife- Blur (Makes me laugh)

It would be brilliant if you could comment below with some of your favourite happy songs that never fail to cheer you up. It really doesn’t matter how ridiculous they are (some of mine are pretty uncool), as long as they cheer you up!

Photo Credit: Ambro via freedigitalphotos.net

21 thoughts on “Happy Music!

  1. thewayofthechiro

    I was just thinking about creating a soundtrack like this today – its a great idea! Crazy thing is I can’t remember what I thought would be good to put on it! Will have to get back to you on that one 🙂

    Reply
  2. Dotty Headbanger

    Dear Rachel,

    I can’t listen to music much any more but I used to play my Abba Gold cd to cheer me up. Any songs I could belt out and sing to at the top of my voice were good – I LOVE the Bat Out Of Hell album. Also some opera, not that I know anything about opera, I just like the odd thing. And Vivaldi, and Mozart’s Eine Kleine Nachtmusik, they cheered me up if I played them loud. 🙂

    Love Dotty xxx

    Reply
    1. rachelmiller1511 Post author

      Aw thanks Dotty- I love a bit of ABBA too, forgot about them. I love Does Your Mother Know, Eagle and Honey, Honey so I might add them to my playlist. I love Bat Out of Hell too! It’s wicked! I’ve got most of his albums.

      Never had you down as a classical music listener! I have a playlist called Happy Classical too. Jupiter by Holst is a good one.
      Thanks for the ideas 🙂

      Reply
  3. mentalhealthtalk

    Like Dotty, I can’t listen to music much either. But I do have a playlist that I am listen to when I draw (for some reason that doesn’t overstimulate me as much)… from Kelly Clarkson to Nine Inch Nails, Lady Gaga to Rush, Pink! to Tool, Nickelback to Bif Naked.

    I like strong, inspirational songs. This is one of my all time feel-good faves that I can’t believe I am admitting to on the internet… but I dare anyone not to start singing with this song: http://youtu.be/tbkOZTSvrHs

    Thank you for sharing your list.

    Reply
    1. rachelmiller1511 Post author

      Yeah that’s a great song! My boyfriend plays that quite a lot.
      I could definitely add some Pink and Kelly Clarkson to my playlist. Bif Naked- that’s a funny name, I don’t know who that is!

      Ok, now you and Jen are talking about Rush I might actually have to listen to them!

      Thanks for sharing xxx

      Reply
      1. mentalhealthtalk

        Bif Naked was featured a lot on Buffy the Vampire Slayer (US) if you ever watched the TV show (maybe that’s before your time???) She is Canadian and this is one of my faves: http://youtu.be/o7GvY6O9J4w. She is much more rock/punk than this song would lead you to believe.

        Rush is awesome. They are the one of my top 3 bands: Rush, Tool and Depeche Mode. I have so many faves from Rush (I have been following them since the 80s) but I thought you’d like this one: http://youtu.be/VbBf0c-NaN4. They are superior musicians–I have never heard a band that is tighter musically.

        Oh, and I see in the comment below about Journey as the original for “Don’t Stop Believing”. Yes!!!!! When I saw it on your pick list, I thought “I have to add that to mine but by Journey”. Awesome song.

  4. Jen

    Ah music! It’s the best medicine. Although, you are missing a trick with using ‘Don’t Stop Believing’ from the Glee Soundtrack – shame on you! 😉 Journey own that song completely – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VcjzHMhBtf0 Steve Perry is officially the happiest dude ever! Check out ‘Faithfully’ by them too, not for a happy song, I find it achingly beautiful though.
    Happy somgs for me –
    1. Sweet Home Alabama – Lynyrd Skynyrd.
    2. You Should Be Dancing – Bee Gees …yes I went there!
    3. Go Your Own Way – Fleetwood Mac.
    4. Flight of the Conchords CD/album.
    5. Rush, Rush, Rush, three times, you know I think they are awesome.
    These are all good mood food for the ears, my ears at least.
    I also enjoy Nine Inch Nails, Type O Negative, The Cure (no pun intended), Pearl Jam, Tenacious D, Marilyn Manson, David Bowie, White Zombie, Bauhaus, Slipknot, Avenged Sevenfold… the list goes on, but NIN and Type O are always at the top of my pile. I even gave birth to NIN the first time, the second time it was a c-section to The Who. Memory evoking tunes!

    Reply
    1. rachelmiller1511 Post author

      Oh yes, a bit of Bee Gees! Love Sweet Home Alabama! Now you and Trish have mentioned Rush I might have to have a listen!

      Don’t Stop Believin’ is great- both versions! But having heard the Journey version over and over at work that’s what I now associate it with! So Glee version it is!

      You’re a bit of a rock-chick then! Thanks for sharing. I’m so nosey, I love seeing what everyone else is into! Get lots of ideas xxx

      Reply
      1. Jen

        Hello. Yes, rock/goth chick confirmed!
        I hate it when life takes good music (clothes, books, films, etc) and associates it with yukky stuff from the past. It really can put you right back there in the emotions, sounds and smells of that moment you thought you’d left behind.

  5. prideinmadness

    Drumming by Florence and the Machine
    Kiss Cam by the Arkells
    Call Me Maybe by Carly Jae Jepsen
    Turn Up the Music by Chris Brown
    Right Woman by Dragonette
    Starry Eyes by Ellie Goulding
    1901 by Phoenix
    Rhythm of the Heat by Peter Gabriel

    Reply
    1. rachelmiller1511 Post author

      Love Drumming by Florence- wicked song, I nearly put that on my list actually. I’m gonna look up some of the others on You Tube as I don’t recognize the titles. They’re probably songs I’ve heard loads of times just didn’t know what they were called! Thanks for sharing! xx

      Reply
    1. rachelmiller1511 Post author

      The Christina one is definitely a good one. I don’t know The Cranberries’ one, (although all the other songs of theirs I’ve heard I’ve really liked) I might do a little You Tube research! 🙂

      Reply
  6. Meagan-to-Mara

    1) Bad Influence – P!nk
    2) Blame it on the Boogie – The Jacksons
    3) Boogie Shoes – KC & the Sunshine Band
    4) Brick House – The Commodores
    5) ‘Cuz I Can – P!nk
    6) God is a DJ – P!nk
    7) How Do You Like Me Now? – Toby Keith
    8) I Hate Boys – Christina Aguillera
    9) I Don’t Have to Try – Avril Lavigne
    10) Party in the USA – Miley Cyrus
    11) Pretty Fly (For a White Guy) – The Offspring
    12) Raise Your Glass – P!nk
    13) Semi Charmed Life – Third Eye Blind
    14) Sin Wagon – Dixie Chicks
    15) Smile – Avril Lavigne
    16) Super Freak – Rick James
    17) The Bad Touch – The Bloodhound Gang

    Reply
    1. rachelmiller1511 Post author

      Thanks so much for this! It’s great to have so many ideas! Pretty Fly by Offspring is on my playlist too- I love it! I can definitely get on board with the Avril Lavigne and Pink. I’ll definitely have to check some of those out on You Tube. Thanks for sharing 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

