Seven Things About Me Award: An Olympic Special!

Thank you to Pride In Madness for nominating me for the Seven Things About Me Award. Pride In Madness is a fab blog about the writer’s experience with her own mental health issues and also her wonderful work in the mental health community.

Rules:

1. Thank the blogger who nominated you.

2. Share seven things about yourself.

3. Nominate other bloggers you think deserve the award, and post on their blog to let them know they’ve been nominated.

 

I nominate the lovely:

Boo at Time Out in the Giggle House

Graham at The Bipolar Place

 

Don’t know if I can think of 7 interesting things to tell you! I could try 7 boring things? Oh no, wait I know-I’ll do a topical Olympic Special!! GENIUS!!

Here goes:

1. I’m excited that the Olympics is starting officially today- basically because I LOVE women’s arthritic ahem- I mean artistic- gymnastics so will be glued to my screen for a few days and imagine myself jumping around in a leotard with them! (Probably not a very pretty site.)

2. We did apply for tickets for the gymnastics and athletics but were unsuccessful. BOOOOOO!!!!!! Stupid sponsors and corporate big wigs who don’t give a flying fudge for women’s gymnastics will be going instead: even BIGGER BOOOOO!!!! They probably don’t even know who Beth Tweddle!!! I KNOW!!

3. I will also be watching the equestrianininismmm- love a good three-day event, and the 100m and 200m finals because it’s tradition (and also because they only last 10 seconds but will be talked about for ages in the media- very little effort for a lot of current affair awareness: I’m a genius!).

4. Mainly I hate sport though, but have mastered the art of looking interested when Chris is watching the footy and chiming in with a well-timed “Come on Rooney!” or “What you playing at Balotelli!”. Secretly I’ll be way more engrossed in posting to you lovely people and reading your blogs, but I still get points with the boyfriend.

5. If I could do any Olympic event (after years of training as a child prodigy of course) it would be artistic gymnastics where I would be champion of the floor and beam. Either that or Figure Skating in the Winter Olympics which I also love.

6. If I could make up an Olympic Event it would be sleeping- I’d definitely get gold and I could retain my title every four years until I was dead! No retiring due to injury either!

7. The funniest Olympic event is Curling- when they sweep furiously on the ice, it just tickles my funny bone!

Have a happy 2012 Olympics Everyone! So great that it’s only a few (well about 100) miles away- if only I had bloody tickets!!!!

14 thoughts on “Seven Things About Me Award: An Olympic Special!

  1. Dorothy

    Hahaha….got a good laugh from your list today. Like your Olympics too..sleeping, there’s an event for you. Would we all be doing it and miss the event results though? Yeah, I like the winter ones too with curling, it is fun. My favorite events in summer is football, and the swimming and diving, but I’ll leave it to your imagination why…hahha.
    Sorry, you didn’t get tickets. You’ll see the events better on TV anyway. Have a good one
    Dot

    Reply
    1. rachelmiller1511 Post author

      Glad it made you laugh Dot!

      Ha! Enjoy the football, swimming and diving!!

      That’s what I’m thinking- I probably wouldn’t have been able to see a lot if I went anyway. We have a 42″ HD TV so I’m thinking I’ll be way better off here too!
      xx

      Reply
      1. prideinmadness

        Ummmm that’s what I want to see! I was saying to my family last night that everyone was like “oooo can they do better than Beijing!??!!” but this is about Britain and what Britain is all about! I want the country to show the world who they are and I think they did that!

        Also I’m just completely in love with the UK *blushes*. When I visit (whenever that is) I have a lengthy list of dead monarchs and other notable people to visit (I read a lot of British historical fiction).

      2. rachelmiller1511 Post author

        LOL- glad that’s what you wanted to see!!

        Yes, there was quite a comparison with Beijing here too.

        I loved the green fields and the hill with the flags on- and the giant Voldemort!

        I didn’t know you were into historical fiction- that’s really cool! I love historical films like Elizabeth, Young Victoria and The Other Boleyn Girl. Don’t really read the books, but love the films! We have a famous author’s house just down the road from us- Anna Sewell who wrote Black Beauty. Think you’d like the city I live on the suburbs of- it’s full of history. We have one of the oldest, complete and intact, streets in the UK with all the buildings still beautiful. Was used in the film Stardust. xx

      3. prideinmadness

        I loved The Other Boleyn Girl. I watched The Tudors when it was on and just because it’s awesome I’ve been watching Sherlock 😛

        I firmly believe that if I lived in England I would never experience sadness again! (sarcasm) I’m hoping that once I get school out of the way i can save money to fly over!

  2. Summer Moon

    This was a fun post to read. I would totally do gymnastics and figure skating too! I’ve always loved those, and they’re usually the only ones I watch. I’ve only seen bits of the gymnastics this time around, though. I’m going to have to catch up on those on youtube, and pretend to be surprised by who wins. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

