Managing High Sensitivity

My absence in posting over the last few months has been due to my increase in focus on spiritual development. The spiritual development classes I have been attending over the last year have really helped me to accept myself more, particularly my intense sensitivity to other’s emotions, the environment, noise, crowds etc. Whereas I used to view myself as anxious in crowds and noise, I now see it as overstimulation of a very sensitive nervous system! I’m also realising that it’s absolutely fine to keep away from these situations.

I have always thought it better to overcome fear of  a noisy, stimulating environment, so as not to become more restricted in the activities I participate in. But I now see that I’m not fearful of them, I just don’t enjoy them.

My whole life I’ve been focusing on learning to fit in in the world and to be like everyone else.

I am so damn exhausted of trying!! It just doesn’t work!

I have battled with this sensitivity for so long- always believing it to be a negative trait, therefore something I should correct.

“You’re being oversensitive. You need to toughen up and develop a thicker skin”. This is the most common feedback I’ve gotten.

Training to Manage Sensitivity: Energetic Work

Through my spiritual development group I’ve learned that sensitivity is a gift. It’s taking a while for this to sink in.

To understand that picking up other’s emotions and thoughts is a positive thing requires a total u-turn in my beliefs.

Untrained this empathic quality just means I’m a sponge for everybody elses’ emotions. If I’m in a room with a group of people, I very soon tune in to the “feeling” of the group and my energies drop or rise accordingly. Working with very negative, low energy people day in day out has, no wonder, been such a struggle for me and crippled me with stress, depression and anxiety. There must be so many more people out there like me, who have absolutely no idea that they are soaking up everybody elses’ fears and sorrows, and are being treated for depression and anxiety.

During spiritual development classes, we learn to distinguish between other people’s energies and our own. We then learn techniques to clear away any energy from other people and clean up our own energy.

Boundaries are also very important. We learn to put up energetic protection around us to prevent us picking up others’ energies in the first place. I’m finding this a bit more of a challenge. I thought I’d be able to imagine a boundary around me- like a protective bubble- and it would just keep the energy out. It requires constant reinforcing though, with time and energy put into creating the boundary around me. When I’ve spent time doing this, I really do feel protected and very comfortable around others. Lots more relaxed too.

The tone of the classes is very much one of love, forgiveness and self acceptance. This has probably been more help to me than any Cognitive Behavioural Therapy and my support system has grown to include our teacher and a few of the other class members. Seeing that others have learnt to deal with their sensitivity and are functioning healthily in society is great motivation and inspiration. I feel accepted and therefore am feeling more acceptance of myself- a total gift!!

 

Please visit Mental Health Talk for my recent guest post: Bipolar and High Sensitivity.

 

A Good Read: Some Spiritual Tools for Life

Related Posts: You’re So Sensitive and my recent guest post on Mental Health Talk: Bipolar and High Sensitivity.

Photo Credit: njaj via freedigitalphotos.net.

14 thoughts on “Managing High Sensitivity

  1. matterami

    It makes me happy that you are using self discovery as a platform to overcome the issues that plague your reality. It is amazing how the mind, so powerful an asset in the idea of creation can also become a worthy adversary with respect to the nature of the creation. I, for one, had to reach an extreme low before I was able to have the consiousness to turn my search for answers within. I am posting some of my experience and thoughts on my blog http://www.mindofmatter.com... if you get a chance…give it a second or two to look…from one who has had many of your similar struggles but has worked his way back up the spiral…have a great day!

    Reply
    1. rachelmiller1511 Post author

      Thank you for your comment, I will be over to look at your site shortly! I’m very interested to read about your similar experiences.

      I also find it amazing how powerful our minds can be and am fast learning the mind is something we need to rein-in and manage, or else it can run away with us! If I don’t give my brain enough stimulation it becomes very bored and ends up chewing the same thoughts over and over, quite often creating a negative spiral into depression or anxiety. If I give it too much stimulation I end up high and giddy: fun at first, but then I crash! It’s a fine balance!

      Thanks again for visiting.

      Reply
  2. mentalhealthtalk

    Sounds like a totally awesome course. I am so happy that you have found something that not only makes you feel more comfortable and loving toward yourself, but also makes you feel empowered. I hope you continue to blog on this topic as I could use all the help I can get in feeling my high-sensitivity is a gift and of a spiritual nature. Oh, and helping to distinguish my emotions from others (though I am getting much better at that).

    The one thing I have recognized is that busy, loud, dynamic places are not for me either. I do ask all my friends to meet me during the quietest hour in a social setting and one at a time (not in groups). And when I decide to go to a social function that is going to be over-stimulating, I go if I really wish to attend and only attend for an hour. The benefit is of course, not feeling so energetically drained afterwards (some days up to 2-3 days after). xo

    Reply
    1. rachelmiller1511 Post author

      Hi Trish,

      Thanks for popping over!

      Limiting your time in these busy environments sounds great. It also takes me a long time to recover from these mega-stimulating situations: 2-3 days like you’ve said. I always told myself I was just being fussy and awkward, but now I realise I NEED to have these limits and if people complain or can’t understand then that is not my problem!!

      Thanks for your support as always Trish xxx

      Reply
      1. lala1966

        one of my friends on here renamed me lol. Yeah I think we can control what we let in to a certain extent, but when the negative gets in, a flush of positive reminders and thoughts can push it out. 😉

  3. gabriella

    Hello Rachel,

    It’s very nice to read your post, and recognizable!
    I stumbled across your site while searching for a good group to help me develop my sensitivity in a positive way, like the spiritual development group you go to. Do you, or maybe one of your teachers know any good groups in Berkshire?

    Best wishes!
    Gabriella

    Reply
    1. rachelmiller1511 Post author

      Hi Gabriella, sorry for the late reply. I’m so glad you felt a connection with the post. Finding a good group can take a bit of research, but here’s a great place for you to start.

      http://berkshire.thespiritguides.co.uk/Psychic_Events.aspx#&panel1-4

      It looks a bit of a tacky site (there is one for each county in the UK) but some very good groups often advertise under events, workshops and classifieds.

      I really hope you find a great group so you can fully love your sensitivity and use your talents!!

      Thanks so much for getting in touch & let me know if I can be of more help.

      Rachel
      xx

      Reply
  4. Pingback: Absorbing Others’ Energy | Emotional Wellness

  5. Pingback: Blog For Mental Health 2014 | Emotional Wellness

Leave a Reply

