You Are Amazing!

What a wonderful message to wake up to on Facebook this morning- thought I would share. Remember everyone, we’re all amazing! But of course if we’re hypomanic we already know that ;).

Affirmations

Affirmations are a starting place for turning around negative thoughts about ourselves. Negative thinking can range from telling ourselves we’re not very good at something to completely believing we’re utter failures in life, completely unlovable and worthless.

Affirmations are positive statements we say to ourselves, for example- I love and take care of myself. 

Once we tell ourselves something over and over again, we start to believe it. Once we believe it, we look for proof in our lives to support that belief. Therefore if we believe we are inherently bad inside and unlovable- we look for everyday proof that this is so: such as somebody putting us down or a disappointing result in a task.

But if we start to tell ourselves that we are loveable and have lots of good qualities, we look out for these things in our lives. We notice and accept compliments, we notice we have a great sense of humour or are a really supportive friend, we revel in a success.

I’m An OK Person

When I’ve been very depressed in the past, I’ve found the idea of calling myself amazing completely ludicrous and totally unbelievable. With severe depression it is near on impossible to think anything good about yourself. So I found the best solution was to tell myself that I’m OK. I’m an OK person.

If amazing seems too far-fetched to believe at the moment, start with “I’m OK”.

Say this with some positivity behind it, maybe a little smile in a mirror.

Sometimes starting at this less enthusiastic place can be more realistic and achievable than saying to ourselves that we’re amazing. Telling ourselves we’re amazing when we’re severely depressed tends to result in a sarcastic tone to the comment- not very helpful at all!

“OK” also allowed a little sense of humour to gently creep back into me- seeing myself in a bit more of a light-hearted manner. It takes time, but it’s worth persevering with.

I’m A Good Person

After I’d accepted that I was an OK person- again this took a good few days- I could then move onto “I’m a good person”.

With repetition of this affirmation I began to unconsciously pick out things I genuinely liked about myself: I’m good at music, I’m not bad at cooking, I keep the house in reasonable shape, I’m a good listener and loyal friend, etc.

It’s amazing how this kind of thinking attracts even more positive thoughts until you can truly believe:

I’m AMAZING!!

How incredible our skills and strengths can seem to other people. How totally unreachable sometimes! But still utterly inspiring!

So to actually start seeing parts of ourselves in this light is AMAZING!

Once we can see our uniqueness in an inspiring light, we can then truly appreciate it and spend more time developing the things we love. We honour our need to spend an hour writing or singing or running or crafting. So what if the washing-up is growing fur!

We can love ourselves for who we truly are.

Accepting Our Weaknesses Graciously

Equally we can also accept our weaknesses with HUMility and HUMour. We are HUMan!! And that’s absolutely OK!

Identifying Hypomanic Thinking

With Bipolar there is always the pitfall of hypomanic thinking which generally falls along the lines of thinking we’re amazing!

So how do we distinguish hypomanic-thinking from truly feeling inspired by our own uniqueness?

With hypomania everything is in the extreme and leads very quickly to unrealistic, racing thoughts that escalate into wilder and wilder ideas.

I’m so incredibly talented at writing, I’m going to start writing a book. I can sell as many as Harry Potter. I can have the films rights bought. I can go to the Oscars when the film is nominated in 15 categories! 

Excitement builds up, thoughts race faster etc.

Hypomanic thinking doesn’t allow any thought of weakness. We feel euphoric and unstoppable- we have superpowers!! We don’t tolerate any thought of weakness in ourselves.

There is also a quality of tension, rushing, faster, faster, do more, need more stimulation etc. Can’t stop and relax. The mind becomes out of control.

The thoughts of amazing-ness are born of the ego. True passion, born of love, is not felt, only excited, chaotic, frantic energy. Our driving motivation is money, power, fame, lust- ego desires. We see amazing-ness only in ourselves.

HYPOMANIA- ACTION COMES FROM THE MIND. OUT OF CONTROL. WE CANNOT STOP. NO HUMILITY. BOASTING. OVER-CONFIDENCE.

Identifying True Passion and Inspiration

True inspired thinking comes from a more peaceful, calm place. It is still exciting to feel passion for our lives again, but thoughts do not race, we do not feel pressured to go, go, go! We don’t need more and more stimulation or addictive substances or behaviours. We can stop and relax and find our centre. We feel grounded.

We are still  aware of our weaknesses and areas we find challenging and may need help with. We certainly don’t see ourselves as invincible.

TRUE INSPIRATION & PASSION- ACTION COMES FROM THE HEART. WE ARE IN CONTROL. WE CAN STOP. WE ARE HUMBLE. QUIET CONFIDENCE.

We recognize that the amazing-ness is not born of ourselves, but of God/Spirit/Universal Loving Energy. We have rediscovered this beautiful energy in ourselves. We are motivated by serving this energy and love, not by desires of the ego. We are humbled by this energy and love that we are privileged to find within us. We are able to see this love and amazing-ness in others.

A Starting Place

I think I’m feeling good about myself, but I’m not at amazing yet!

Believing we are amazing is not big-headed. It comes from of place of true self-love and acceptance of weaknesses and challenges.

If you’re in a depressed place at the moment start with “I’m OK”.

FOR INSPIRATION:

Read About The Queen of Affirmations and Positive Self Talk: Louise Hay

Read her beautiful book : You Can Heal Your Life

24 thoughts on “You Are Amazing!

  1. lala1966

    So much of what I have been trying to get across so much to my readers. You have put it in just the right way. Great post! If you don’t mind, I would like to reblog!

    Reply
  2. Sandy Sue

    Rachel, this is wonderful. “I’m OK” is such a do-able place to start when the depression is severe. When I look in the mirror during those times, I say “I’m still…” and try to list the things I still am, or can do, or have even though I’m depressed.

    And goodness, girl! What have you done to your site? It is gorgeous!

    Reply
    1. rachelmiller1511 Post author

      Aw Sandy Sue- thank you so much for such a lovely comment!! So glad you like the new look!
      I could never accept liking myself when I was severely depressed, but I could accept “I’m OK” and even this was a comfort!

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Why Do We Fall? « A Mind Divided

  4. Pingback: Self-Forgiveness: A Work in Progress | My Bipolar Life

  5. writerlauren

    Thank you for this insightful and inspiring post. I have a person in my life who is very important to me who has a bi-polar personality. We have been working through affirmations and self-help methods together and it is helping. Thank you again for confirming that others are having positive results too. Have a great day! xxx

    Reply
    1. rachelmiller1511 Post author

      Wow, that’s so great. I really think the way forward in overcoming mental health issues is through loving ourselves. Thanks for the positive feedback. You have a great day too xxx

      Reply
  6. Pingback: Full Moon: Releasing Old Baggage. | Working Through Emotional Disorder

  7. Pingback: Art Shop | Working Through Emotional Disorder

  8. Pingback: Depression: Alternative Therapies, Life Lessons, and Gratitude. | Emotional Wellness

  9. Pingback: Conversations With Myself: Exploring Low Mood | Emotional Wellness

  10. Pingback: Star Wars: The Force Awakens….Inside us? | Emotional Wellness

Leave a Reply

