Turn the Day Around: Shifting the Gloom

I’ve just had one of those mornings where I’m feeling down in the dumps and resigned to having a bad day. I started the day getting up late and eating sugar- not my usual start!! It made a big difference to how I felt though: low and negative and I’d genuinely given up on improving things for the day- I’d written the day off! I just wanted to sleep through it and start again tomorrow!

I managed to snap out of it a little- enough to do a bit of meditation and just accept the place where I was at. Sometimes it helps to just go:

“I feel like *%$@ and that’s OK.”

“Just because I feel low doesn’t mean I’ve failed.”

“It hasn’t been the best of starts, but I’ve been reminded what does and doesn’t make me feel good.”

“I can still enjoy the afternoon.”

Following this I made a mini-plan of actions to help myself feel better. This included a dog walk in the fresh air and countryside, drinking loads of water, and eating some raw carrot- a very low GI food to counter-balance the sugar I ate earlier. Balancing blood sugar seemed like a sensible thing to do as I feel horrid when my blood sugar plummets after a sugar binge. I also added cleaning the bathroom to the list: not my favourite job, but I really like the bathroom to be clean!

The walk was great- we ended up being over an hour. The weather was perfect- sunny but cool- and we didn’t see another soul! The squirrels and jays entertained us with their antics around the woods and farmland. I came home feeling refreshed and revitalised.

The Importance of Shifting Energy

The walk worked for me as it shifted the negative energy which was clinging to me and allowed new positive energy in!

Low, gloomy energy, once accumulated, can stick to us like glue in the energetic field around us- our aura. Once stuck it keeps us feeling down, which in turn attracts more negative energy. Like attracts like.

It is much easier for positive energy to accumulate around us once the negative energy has been shifted- it clears space.

The things which help us to feel better are usually things that shift the negative energy. One of the best ways to shift energy is exercise, or any type of movement eg. cleaning or gardening. Once we’ve shifted the negative energy we are then in a position to attract new positive energy to us. This usually occurs through enjoyment of an activity. We feel good. Our thoughts become more positive. Like attracts like, so more positive energy is attracted to us.

Other ways to shift negative energy include:

– chatting, laughing with friends.

– breathing exercises: imagine breathing in beautiful, clean, loving, positive energy and breathing out old, stale, stagnant negativity. Breathing deeply into your lungs and imagining the new energies shifting the old really helps this exercise work.

– expressing yourself through creative activity.

– spending time in nature: the energy of trees, plants, the Earth etc, neutralises any negative energy. Sitting by rivers or the sea can be especially healing as you imagine the negativity being washed away. Even visualising this is helpful.

– music- screaming and shouting out any anger to angry music can help. As can putting on upbeat tracks that make you want to dance. Dancing’s great too!

– massage/spa.

– doing something you love.

Seeing these activities as shifting negative energies really helps motivate me to take action if I’m feeling low. I know that if I don’t act towards shifting the energy, I’ll very likely feel rubbish the rest of the day- maybe even getting worse by ruminating.

When we find ourselves ruminating negatively- it’s time to take ACTION through distrACTION!!  Don’t let those thoughts get their icy grip on your heart. Say NO!! You’re not sucking the life out of me!!! I’m going to create some positive energy instead to push you away!

Positive Intentions

Keep your mind focused on:

– high energy levels and vitality.

– fun and laughter.

– passions eg, people/pets you love, hobbies etc. Things you love.

PLAY!! One of my favourite games to play is to imagine I’ve been given £100,000. I then go about “spending” it online! It’s fun planning a holiday or some courses I want to take, and imagining what it would be like. Childish but fun! And a good way to use the Law of Attraction!

Give yourself a great day- you deserve it!

Photo Credits:

Sun by digitalart; Rainy Boy by Simon Howden; Waterfall by Evegeni Dinev all via freedigitalphotos.net

24 thoughts on “Turn the Day Around: Shifting the Gloom

  1. lala1966

    good plan! I’ve just started again this week taking my morning walk with Sasha again. doing that is one of my favorite ways to feel positive. 😉

    Reply
  2. Summer Moon

    Love this! So true what you say about negative energy and it working against us from moving back up again. It just joins forces with gravity, even passing it up in strength. As you know, I’m a lover of imagination and fantasy, so I find your imagining of the 100,000 spending spree to be fantastic! It really can be a pick-me-up for fighting against that negativity.

    “One of the best ways to shift energy is exercise, or any type of movement eg. cleaning or gardening.”

    I also agree so much with what you say in this quote. For me, cleaning is a huge energy booster. It feels so good to throw out the old and bring in the new. It’s a great feeling to kind of clean away those negative feelings and allow positive ones to take their place. We’ve recently had our house painted and it’s so refreshing. My mom and dad’s moods have even picked up with it. They don’t have bipolar, but moods are moods. We all have them, and theirs picked up with it and I love to see that. It’s funny how that works.

    Thanks for this post, Rachel. Lots of great advice here which I can use right now. 🙂

    Reply
    1. rachelmiller1511 Post author

      Aw, thanks for the lovely comment. Glad you liked the £100,000 idea. I usually find that it brings some extra cash into my life or one of the things I’ve been looking at online. It’s quite magic! Amazing what you can do by imagination!

      So true about chucking out the old and redecorating- it really does improve our energy levels, particularly if we’re quite sensitive.

      Glad you’re back Summer xx

      Reply
  3. sakuraandme

    This is all sooo true and great advice!!!
    I’m jealous I wish I had gone with you on that walk.LOL
    Tree’s and fresh air…Yes!…going to see my Lllamas for the weekend…They make me feel on top of the world!!
    Have a great weekend xx

    Reply
    1. rachelmiller1511 Post author

      Thanks for the lovely comment! You would surely be welcome on my walk!

      Wow, llamas, that’s so cool! Animals are brilliant for picking up our energies!

      You have a great weekend too!

      Reply
  4. prideinmadness

    Great idea! Energy shifting….LOVE IT! It’s making me think that I can still be mad I just have to do something else. The anger doesn’t need to go away, just go into something that isn’t a person.

    Mind blown! 🙂

    Reply
  5. projectwhitespace

    Good thoughts here–I know what you mean about shifting out the negative. You hit it right on when you said that it leaves more “space” for the good stuff to come in. 🙂 You know I’m all about that whitespace. 🙂
    I’m reading a book right now that’s not quite published. It’s about powerful positive thinking. I think you would really enjoy it. When it comes out, I will let you know. (this post made me think of it)

    Reply
      1. projectwhitespace

        I met her on LinkedIn. I do a lot of networking there. Her business is in coaching people through positive thinking. She is also a certified hypnotist. But this book is actually amazing. I’m so impressed with it.

Leave a Reply

