High Sensitivity

 “The truly creative mind in any field is no more than this: A human creature born abnormally, inhumanely sensitive.

“To them… a touch is a blow, a sound is a noise, a misfortune is a tragedy, a joy is an ecstasy, a friend is a lover, a lover is a god, and failure is death.”

Pearl Buck- author of Pulitzer Prize-winning novel The Good Earth and recipient of the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1938.

Are you an HSP? Take the quiz to find out, or read Bipolar Disorder and Highly Sensitive People– my guest post on Mental Health Talk.

I’ve recently come across some great resources on Highly Sensitive People (HSPs) which might interest the HSPs amongst you:

Being Highly Sensitive and Creative- highlysensitive.org.

Highly Sensitive Personality and Creativity- highlysensitive.org

Shyness, Introversion, Sensitivity- What’s the Difference? – highlysensitive.org

What’s So Great About Being Highly Sensitive Anyway?- highlysensitive.org

13 thoughts on “High Sensitivity

  1. mentalhealthtalk

    Wow. This quote really hit home. I am going to check out the extra links you listed.

    And THANK YOU for reposting your story on MHT. It is am amazing post and the stats show that people really resonate with it.

    Off to share this quote with my HSP friends on facebook!

    Much love to you Rachel.

    Reply
    1. rachelmiller1511 Post author

      Great to hear from you. Thank you for such great quality information on high sensitivity- it’s such an interesting topic and something I really relate to as well as other blog readers. Your articles are a great help.

      Reply
  2. littlesundog

    Rachel, thank you for posting this! I just now realized I am highly sensitive and had no idea why I felt so alone and weird most of my life! I just assumed I was an oddball, destined to be alone. As a middle-aged woman, I understand I cannot change society, but I certainly do not have to abide by their rules or expectations of how I should be. I feel best when I am surrounded by like-minded souls, and certainly I love being at one with nature and the animals. It is a comfort to be connected with others who have the experience, understanding and compassion that comes with being highly sensitive. I look forward to reading the links you kindly provided!

    Reply
    1. rachelmiller1511 Post author

      Thank you for such a lovely comment. I’m always so happy to hear from other hsp’s as it can sometimes feel a bit lonely!! I’m so glad my post resonated with you and I hope you found the links interesting!! Thanks again- Rachel xx

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Absorbing Others’ Energy | Working Through Emotional Disorder

  4. Pingback: Blog For Mental Health 2014 | Emotional Wellness

  5. Pingback: Receiving a Diagnosis | Emotional Wellness

Leave a Reply

