Hypomanic Obsessions & OCD

Yesterday I had a bit of a psychological revelation- I realised how much I’ve been obsessing about my relationship- and probably life in general!

I’ve always thought I’ve been “helping” Chris by giving “advice” but now I realise I’ve been trying to control the poor boy all along! I can’t believe I never saw it before. I thought that the more we “work” on our relationship, the more we’ll grow. But my idea of “work” has really been about control. It’s been staring me in the face really!

I try to “fix” things all the time and look at our relationship under a microscope. It’s so much pressure and stress on both of us.

Hypomania Signs?

Reckon I might have some Hypomania Prodromal Symptoms going on here:

– Increase in obsessive thoughts about our relationship- thoughts that go round and round and aren’t really productive. Lots of Mind Buzz in general.

– I’ve also been sleeping only 6-7 hours a night on and off, whereas I usually need about 9-10.

– Feeling that intense pressure to do, do DO things and just can’t relax.

– I just don’t seem to be able to let go and relax!! I can feel all the tension in my muscles. I keep getting headaches too.

– And it’s getting harder and harder to drag myself away from the computer.

I seriously need to chill out!!

I don’t even have anything stressful going on in my life at the moment- yippee!- so no obvious trigger, Though looking back, my sleeping patterns changed when the clocks went back a couple of weeks ago (I’m in UK), so I guess that could be the trigger.

So to focus on the solution I would like to:

– surrender control to spirit/source/the universe/God.
– accept when I can’t change things.
– focus my energy on the present and how I would like to be.

Vervain Bach Flower Remedy has also been recommended by my practitioner. (See here for more info on Bach Flower Remedies for Bipolar).

Link between Bipolar and OCD

I’ve never really thought of myself as having OCD as I do not have the classic compulsion symptoms like hand-washing, checking, etc. But recently I have noticed more and more that I am very obsessive in my thinking. I’m always monitoring my thoughts for any “dangerous” thoughts, like thinking someone might get run over and then worrying that because I thought it, it might happen.

Coincidently I was looking up information about the remedy Vervain which was recommended, which can be found here. It mentions the manic state and obsessive compulsive disorder together, which I thought was interesting.

I also found an interesting article on OCD and Bipolar. Apparently 15-20% of those with Bipolar also have OCD. They also talk about OCD as a separate condition to Bipolar, but that some people may not have OCD, but have OCD-type symptoms as part of their Bipolar moods.

All very interesting. Now I’m getting obsessive about research- ARGHHHHH!!

Resources

Is There Such a Thing as Bipolar OCD Disorder?– Psychology Today.

I Hate Daylight Saving Time– bphope.

Bach Flower Remedies– My Bipolar Life

Bach Calm- Vervain

Photo Credit: debspoons via freedigitalphotos.net.

12 thoughts on “Hypomanic Obsessions & OCD

  1. lala1966

    I go through these symptoms you are explaining much of the time. They are usually followed by a crash. I want to sleep all of the time and my brain is too tired to consentrate. Then after a few days, I am back to being obessive, having racing thoughts, overthinking ect. I also think I have to fix everything so I can relate. I hope that you get a little break soon sweety! (((hugs)))

    Reply
  2. Sandy Sue

    For me, the first step is always awareness. We can’t change a behavior unless we see it.
    I’ve always wondered about the relationship between OCD and BPD. From the articles, the professionals don’t know that much about it either (typical). My compulsive behavior is the hardest part of my illness. It can destroy any progress I make in other parts of my life.

    Reply
    1. rachelmiller1511 Post author

      You’re right about awareness. I can’t believe I never saw it before- it’s been years!! Hopefully I’ll be able to nip it in the bud now before it gets worse!! It would be good to find out more about the relationship between the two disorders. Thanks for your comments, as always xx

      Reply
  3. sakuraandme

    Hi Rachel! *waving* did you have a good weekend?
    I know all about OCD! *laughing* I no longer take meds for it,as I thought they made me worse! *Go Figure!*
    I’ve got better at washing my hands less often, but shocking at checking doors locked and making sure switches are turned off! *laughing*
    If my mood changes….the OCD changes with it! *smiling* Ah you have to laugh at such things.
    As for controlling? I put my hand up to that one also! Lol …..Paula x

    Reply
    1. rachelmiller1511 Post author

      Hi Paula- I’ve not had too bad a weekend thanks- been a bit mood swingy! Yes- my obsessive thoughts and behaviours seem to come and go with the mood swings too.
      Glad I’m not the only controlling one!! So great that we at least admit to it 🙂
      Hope you’re well and have had a good weekend too xxx

      Reply
  4. Pingback: Arrrghhhhh!! Mental Torture! Intrusive Thoughts & OCD. | My Bipolar Life

Leave a Reply

