Manic Over-Commitment & Quitting

I’m reblogging a post from last year. I had a really interesting comment on it yesterday, from Ashley, which is worth looking at- maybe you can help??

I’m happily in a much better headspace now- but the whole topic of manic over-commitment and quitting is still valid and appropriate I believe!!

Emotional Wellness

 Today I learnt of a recurring theme in my life: quitting. When I was 10 I quit ballet lessons, 11 I quit flute lessons, 12 tap lessons, 15 horse riding……on to age 22 I quit my degree at University of Leeds- the list goes on. Needless to say those hobbies I quit as a child, I’ve returned to and quit again at numerous times of my life.

I realised that I’ve never really learnt to follow through with anything. As soon as the going gets tough, the weak give up. Maybe there have been good reasons for me to quit many of the things I’ve started, but I’ve also started many things I never should have- like full time jobs in the middle of hypomania. When hypomanic, it is sooo easy to want to do everything, here’s my usual list:

Full time job (where I will naturally have a…

View original post 310 more words

4 thoughts on “Manic Over-Commitment & Quitting

  1. Pingback: G-String Humor… Just Another Manic Monday – allaboutlemon

  2. Pingback: Don’t Quit « A Lady-In- Waiting

  3. Pingback: Very Funny Pepsi Commercial… Just Another Manic Monday – allaboutlemon-All Around, In, And Out Of My Own Universe

  4. Pingback: Mommy Please don’t Quit | momslupusmagic

Leave a Reply

