Body Image & Lena Dunham’s ‘Girls’

I have had pretty poor body image from the age of about 10. I was a little overweight as a child, butgirls-detail nothing major- it was enough to get teased though.

I know I’m not alone here!

If, like me, you are easily disillusioned by seeing images of beautiful, skinny, perfectly moulded women’s bodies all over the media, try watching HBO’s ‘Girls’ on Sky.

Written by and starring the fabulous Lena Dunham it tells the fortunes of four girls as they contend with the challenges of living and working in New York, and of their respective relationships.

There is a lot of nudity in this show. But for someone like me it is so refreshing to see a girl with a ‘normal’ body who is not afraid to flaunt it in front of the cameras. Lena Dunham is one ballsy girl and I love her for it. Anyone who can help me accept my body just a teeny bit is fabulous in my book!!girls-hbo-fashion

Lena Dunham’s character ‘Hannah’ frequently flaunts the most unflattering fashions and her lovely, ‘normal’, naked body with seemingly not a care in the world. How amazing!! It is actually possible to have an average body and be comfortable and relaxed in it! What a great role model she is to me.

After watching ‘Girls’, I practically sigh with relief- “thank goodness I’m normal after all”!

Thank you Lena Dunham- you are my heroine!!

On a side note- in the last episode (aired on Monday 4th March) Hannah had to deal with the return of her OCD symptoms. Always great to see mental health issues handled well in TV dramas.

Related Posts

A Little Bit on Eating Disorders

Body Image & Anxiety

From Overare For Others’ Opinions To Self-Discovery

12 thoughts on “Body Image & Lena Dunham’s ‘Girls’

  1. writerlauren

    This is my fave show on tv right now. It deals with issues, mindsets and body shapes relevant to real girls and it is laugh out loud funny. Great to see that the show is having a positive effect on you. (Although spoiler alert as we haven’t seen the one from 4th March here in the UK yet! lol) xxx

    Reply
    1. rachelmiller1511 Post author

      I’m in the UK too!! It was on on Monday 😀
      Yeah, it’s a great show isn’t it!! So modern and real. I was amazed when I learnt that Lena Dunham write, directed and starred in it as well! She’s so young!!

      Reply
      1. writerlauren

        It was? I beg’ pardon, I must have missed a week somewhere as I always watch them on catch-up. I do love that show…another thing I started watching recently that I love is ‘Enlightened’ it’s about a woman’s struggle to remain ‘spiritual’ whilst the day to day problems of life are happening around her, it’s really good. xx

  2. prideinmadness

    I love Girls!!!!! Dunham has been receiving a lot of backlash for doing nude scenes but I have never felt more comfortable watching someone naked on screen because he body is closer to mine. I have been able to relate to the show so much and it is fun, clever, funny and this is what all girls should be watching!

    Reply
    1. rachelmiller1511 Post author

      It’s brilliant isn’t it?! I didn’t realise she was getting flack for the nude scenes. That’s a real shame because I think it’s wonderful to have ‘normal’ bodies in the media.
      It does feel comfortable to watch, you’re bang on there. It makes it feel more familiar.

      As a society we’ve come to think of Elle MacPherson’s or Giselle Bundchen’s body as ‘normal’, when in reality their body types are way in the minority. I always liken them to thoroughbred racehorses! I’m a carthorse :D! I happen to like good old faithful carthorses!!

      Reply
  3. Sandy Sue

    This sounds like a great show. Here in the states, I’ve liked “Mike and Molly” with the hilarious Melissa McCarthy, who is obese, gorgeous and real. And, of course, I loved The Vicar of Dibley–especially when Richard Armitage fell madly in love with Geraldine. Sigh! It gives fat girls hope.

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Full Moon: Releasing Old Baggage. | Working Through Emotional Disorder

  5. Pingback: Taking Care of Myself | Emotional Wellness

Leave a Reply

