Releasing Judgement: The Love Thermometer.

It is common in those of us with Bipolar/Borderline Personality/Depression/Anxiety etc. to judge ourselves very harshly.

Today, instead of judging ourselves negatively, we could think of a Love Thermometer! Harsh judgments would register as 0%- there is no love in the thermometer. But we can fill it up!!Image

For example:

I may think the house is really messy and needs cleaning up, which may lead me to make negative judgements about myself. But today, I’m going to look at this in terms of how much love is in this fraction of my life?

  • If I am judging myself for being lazy, there may not be much love in that conclusion (probably 0%!)- how can I fill up the Love Thermometer for myself?
  • Change the perception of the event- the house is messy because I’ve been out walking the dog/spending time with my niece/making cards/writing or doing other things I LOVE.
  • Here is the LOVE!! It is the mess which is the result of LOVE- and there is no greater thing!! The mess represents LOVE!!
  • The LOVE Thermometer has charged up from 0% to 100%!!

And, hey presto, we are no longer judging ourselves harshly and have found our inner-love in this beautiful moment! (It works with judgment of others too ;)).

Photo Credit: digitalart via freedigitalphotos.net.

3 thoughts on “Releasing Judgement: The Love Thermometer.

  1. Pingback: Exploring Negative Thoughts | Emotional Wellness

Leave a Reply

