A Crafty Step Forward

I’ve made a big step forwards these last two weeks and have been making cards and sketching again. It was difficult. It took effort- particularly the sketching. My confidence has been completely shot over the last 10 years of Bipolar rubbish, but I’m gonna get it back!! I wrote positive comments on my sketches to cheer myself on!!

I am really thankful that I’m now ready to move on and recover the real Rachel. This time last year I wouldn’t have been able to do these projects at all- the negative thinking was a massive block. I know I need to put in work and effort to get where I want to go, but I feel in a much better place to fight for it now!!

18 thoughts on “A Crafty Step Forward

  1. mentalhealthtalk

    By god you are talented. Whatever you need to do to maintain your art practice, do it! I have found that I prioritize all the easy stuff (what I label as the things I “need” to do) higher than expressing myself creatively because my resistance to letting that part of me shine makes it so damn hard to get started. You are so very shiny Rachel. What I know of your art and your writing… if you decide to sell any of it please let me know how I can support you in that. xo

    Reply
    1. rachelmiller1511 Post author

      That part of us that resists moving forwards can be so powerful! I think I’m starting to believe that I’m powerful too though and so are you Trish!! Your blog is something special in allowing others a platform to express themselves and reach out to others with similar conditions.

      I felt quite emotional reading your comment here- when you said I’m “shiny”. That is such a beautiful thing to say Trish- thank you so so much, and for all your support, it is greatly appreciated.

      I was wondering if you’d like to do a little cartoon for my site, or a short post?? Don’t worry if you don’t have time, but I’d love to showcase your work too xxx

      Reply
      1. mentalhealthtalk

        I meant every word of it Rachel. And thank you so much for your kind words about my blog.

        I’d love to do a cartoon for your blog–thank you for the opportunity! I’m thrilled to be asked. I think I will do it on the psycho-spiritual experience. One of my regular contributors (Jared) has recommended a good book to me (by Grof) and the link you left on my site seems very helpful as well (http://spiritualemergency.blogspot.co.uk/). After I process this information, I will come up with cartoon and maybe it will help me to reframe my own experience. I think it will fit well with the evolving theme of your blog too. Please let me know if you would prefer I do something else. Much love to you Rachel.

      2. rachelmiller1511 Post author

        Thank you Trish- it will be great to showcase some of your work here and what you’ve suggested sounds great! There’s no pressure or hurry- just whenever you’ve got time! Thanks again Trish- love & hugs, Rachel xxx

  2. Pingback: More Illustrations | Working Through Emotional Disorder

  3. Pingback: Art Shop | Working Through Emotional Disorder

Leave a Reply

