I Would Like To Thank the Academy……(sniffle)

Image

Seeing as I may never make it to the Oscars (I know! I can’t believe they didn’t like my script for Titanic: The Return either) I will have to make do with my Versatile Blogger’s Award speech- for which I am actually very grateful.

Thank you so much Carlarenee from Season’s Change and So Have I, it’s great to be passed on the award by such a dedicated blogger who is always on hand with a lovely comment to perk me up! Thank you!! Despite a ga-zillion diagnoses, Carlarenee always manages to stay upbeat and dedicated to her blog-followers, as well as strong in her faith, which I admire.

Award acceptance: Tell you seven things about myself and nominate 10-15 other bloggers (wow, that’s a lot- I’ll try my best!).

 

Fantastic fellow-bloggers who deserve much recognition for their hard work and fabulous writing:

Project Whitespace

Mountain Missy

Quit the Cure

Mental Health Talk

Pride in Madness

A Mind Divided

Notes From A She-Hermit

The Bipolar Place

Type B Negative 

Purple Persuasion

My Bipolar Bubble

On Being Mindful

If any of you have it anyway, please accept the lovely compliment instead and marvel at your popularity!

 

Seven Things About Me:

1. I love films- a lot! My boyfriend and I are total film geeks and have a massive TV with surround sound system and blu-ray player for maximum cinema-like experience! (We can never agree on what to watch though).

2. I love music and have a very VERSATILE (see what I did there?!) taste: Florence & the Machine, Alanis Morrisette, Muse, Michael Jackson, Adele, Taylor Swift,Paramore, My Chemical Romance, Linkin Park, Queen, Elton John, ABBA, musicals, soundtracks, all the way over to Einaudi, Karl Jenkins, Beethoven, Tchaikovsky, Rachmaninov, Chopin, Dvorak. Phew…

3. Sad but true: I like High School the Musical. I’m 32…..

4. My last holiday was to Majorca (last July). Loved swimming in the sea and snorkelling, boat trips and  a Take That tribute act :)- was a little bit tipsy.

5. I’m mad-keen on ballet- watching it in the theatre. I gave up my dancing dreams when I was 14 :(. But I have been on stage in various dance shows doing ballet, tap, modern and street dance.

6. I would love to be a fly on the wall on film sets, and just watch James Cameron and Steven Spielberg make movies all day.

7. I used to ride – see below.

Rachel the Rider (Aww look at me when I was 15!). The horse is Jessie- she was very fast and a bit skittish! Good jumper though!

24 thoughts on “I Would Like To Thank the Academy……(sniffle)

  1. Trish

    Thank you Rachel!!!!! I added your name to my previous nomination for this award on my awards page (http://mentalhealthtalk.info/appearances-and-awards/). Very entertaining post btw and I love the part where you answer the questions because that feels like really getting to know you.

    Oh and thank you for being such a faithful commenter at MHT. I am so happy to have you as part of the community.

    Love,
    Trish

    Reply
    1. rachelmiller1511 Post author

      Glad you’ve been showered with awards! You deserve them!

      I am also very glad to have you as part of the community Trish, I love how supportive you are.

      Answering the questions was quite fun actually. It will be good to see what some of you guys have written too.

      Hope you are well at the moment & I look forward to reading more on your site.

      Rachel
      xx

      Reply
  2. Shelly

    Thank you for the nomination to this award, Rachel…much appreciated. You are thoughtful and kind. I’ve enjoyed getting to know you a bit as I’ve read your blog these past weeks
    .
    I love ‘culture’ anything….observing. Dance, music, theatre, musicals, orchestra, all kind of expressions of the artist within…painting, sculpture, drawing, etc.
    I sing in my church choir. That’s my contribution to the world of the arts!

    Reply
  3. Sandy Sue

    Thanks, Rachel, for the nod. I see we love the same weird mishmash of music–cool! And I could sit in a movie theater all day (Oops, I have done that on occasion, sneaking from movie to movie). I love the new pic of you up top. You look so happy and clear!

    Reply
    1. rachelmiller1511 Post author

      I think it’s good to like so many different kinds of music- music for every mood!

      I’ve thought about sneaking from movie to movie but got too scared!

      No problem for the “nod”!

      Reply
  4. Summer Moon

    Congratulations, Rachel! 🙂 I love reading those facts about you. The pic of you is really cute too! Horses are such beautiful animals. I’d love to learn to ride someday. And the dancing… that’s awesome! It’s cool to learn you love dance so much and have had experience in it.

    Thank you so much for nominating me! I really appreciate it! 🙂 Hmmm… I have to think of 7 facts.

    Reply
    1. rachelmiller1511 Post author

      No problem for the nomination. I think it’s quite fun all this award passing! Doing the seven facts was quite fun too. I’m looking forward to reading what you guys all write!

      Horses are beautiful aren’t they? I love them I’m too much of a wimp to ride now though- unless it’s a trek through the countryside, they were always my favourites. You should definitely have a go, it’s surprisingly good exercise as well.

      Reply
  5. prideinmadness

    I HAVE ALWAYS WANTED TO RIDE A HORSE!!!!! On my own, not someone pulling it along so it stays on the path…yes I’m talking about horse and pony rides. Thx for the nomination!

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Another One « The Bipolar Place

  7. projectwhitespace

    I’m slow!! I just came in here to accept this award, and I think you awarded me another one. It is time for me to write these. I didn’t know you like horses! I have loved horses since I was 7–wanted one since then; however, now I know I’m probably too busy to own one, but I wouldn’t mind leasing one for a while just for the experience. I think I would have a hard time giving her back though.
    We also have a lot of the same music tastes: I’m an eclectic music lover too, and I like Alannis Morrissette whose name I can never spell, and Adele, and Michael Jackson (and you already know about Paul Simon). 🙂

    Reply
    1. rachelmiller1511 Post author

      My love for horses surfaced at a similar age! I used to dream of owning one! I don’t think it would be practical for me to own one at the moment, but it’s something I would like to do at some point too! Did you used to ride too then?

      Great music taste ;). We had tickets to see Michael Jackson in London, I was so excited. Think he died as much due to the pressure put on him, drugs were just a vehicle.

      Reply
      1. projectwhitespace

        Yes, you are right, drugs were just the vehicle. That really is a sad story. I always felt he had so much pressure.
        The only time I ever got a chance to ride was when I was about 21, and my aunt gave me riding lessons for a while. I totally loved it. I loved how the different paces all felt so different–from the gallop to the canter. And of course just walking. Ah. . . how I would love to do that again!

      2. rachelmiller1511 Post author

        I always loved hacking out and just enjoying the countryside from horseback. One of my favourite rides was Western-style with a western saddle. It was so much more relaxed than the English-style. Great that your aunt had a horse you could ride.

Leave a comment